1 / 2

McWherter Scholarship

KINGSPORT — Two Dobyns-Bennett High School students have been named recipients of the 2018-19 Ned McWherter Scholarship. More than 1,500 applications were received this school year, and 70 scholarships were awarded.

Those named scholarship recipients from D-B are Karli Ailshie, daughter of Dr. Lyle and Vanessa Ailshie, and Kendall Miller, daughter of David and Kellie Miller.

The Ned McWherter Scholars Program recognizes Tennessee’s highest academic achievers who have chosen to attend college in the state. The program awards each student $6,000 per academic year, with $3,000 from the state of Tennessee and $3,000 from the college or university the student attends.

“Karli and Kendall have been exceptional students and leaders during their time at Dobyns-Bennett,” D-B Principal Chris Hampton said. “They are excellent representatives of our school and will represent the state of Tennessee and will represent the McWherter’s Scholars Program in the same fashion. I can’t wait to see what these incredible students will do at the college level and beyond.”

The Ned McWherter Scholars Program began in 1986 and is designed to encourage academically superior Tennessee high school graduates to attend college in the Volunteer State. Since 2002, there have been more than 1,000 Ned McWherter Scholars.

The Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation awarded funding to 70 new applicants and 310 renewal applicants for a total of 380 Ned McWherter Scholars. Current Ned McWherter Scholars will attend 13 Tennessee higher education institutions, had an average high school GPA of 3.99, and hold an average ACT score of 34.5. Recipients must maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average in college and attend full-time to remain eligible for the program.

For more information, go online to the program’s webpage on


Source Article